Former Scurry County United Way President Kellye Starnes (left) cut a retirement cake honoring Executive Secretary Peggy Vernon (right) during Tuesday’s Be A Hero campaign luncheon. Vernon retired this month after serving as executive secretary for eight years.
Five Jack and Ann Smartt awards were presented during Scurry County United Way’s Be A Hero campaign luncheon. The awards go to an individual, couple or entity who exemplifies the qualities demonstrated by Jack Smartt. Recipients were (l-r) United Supermarket, represented by Jessie Edwards; Brenda Clem; Invenergy, LLC, represented by Eric and Jackie Roberson; and Richard and Debbie Dupree. Not pictured is Reagor-Dykes Auto Group.
Scurry County United Way board members are (l-r) Jonathan Farmer, Sonya Vinson, Ben Boyd, Kellye Starnes, Belia Romero, Carl Burleson and Shirley Fritz. Not pictured are board members Kaitlin Ferguson, Starla Gonzales, Tammy Lucke, Barbara McGee and Ralph Ramon.
Scurry County United Way awarded $79,260 to eight nonprofit organizations during Tuesday’s Be A Hero campaign luncheon. Pictured are (l-r) Buffalo Trails Boy Scouts representative David Chapman, Scurry County Food Cupboard representative Sonny Greenfield, Cancer Services Network representative Nancy Tyler, Snyder Volunteer Fire Department representative Ben Poe, West Texas Children’s Advocacy Center representative Kelsey Zimmerman, Snyder Day Care representative Janell Roden, Gateway Family Services represe

Please log in to read the full story. Our website requires visitors to Login to view the best local news from Snyder Daily News. Not yet a subscriber? Subscribe today!

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 949    
Snyder, TX 79550
Phone: (325) 573-5486
Fax: (325) 573-0044